The Leaders of China: From Late 19th Century to 1949

The leaders of China from late 19th century to 1949. Short-term Prime Ministers are not included.

The Guangxu Emperor (1871-1908) 清光绪帝, the eleventh emperor of the Manchu-led Qing Dynasty, and the ninth Qing emperor to rule over China.
Empress Dowager Cixi (慈禧太后), powerful and charismatic figure who became the de facto ruler of the Manchu Qing Dynasty in China for 47 years from 1861 to her death in 1908.
Puyi (1906 – 1967) 溥仪, the last Emperor of China, also the Kangde Emperor (康德皇帝) of Manchukuo.
Sun Yat-sen (1866 - 1925) 孙中山, frequently referred to as the "Father of the Nation" (國父).
Yuan Shikai (1859 - 1916) 袁世凯, the second President of the Republic of China and attempted to revive the Chinese monarchy.
Li Yuanhong (1864 - 1928) 黎元洪, twice president of the Republic of China.
Feng Guozhang (1859 - 1919) 冯国璋, Vice-President and then President of the Republic of China, the founder of the Zhili Clique of Warlords.
Xu Shichang (1855 - 1939) 徐世昌, President of the Republic of China (Beijing government) from October 10, 1918 to June 2, 1922.
Cao Kun (1862 - 1938) 曹锟, President of the Republic of China (in Beijing) from October 10, 1923 to November 2, 1924.
Duan Qirui (1865 - 1936) 段祺瑞, Provisional Chief Executive of Republic of China (in Beijing) from November 24, 1924 to April 20, 1926.
Zhang Zuolin (1875 - 1928) 张作霖, the warlord of Manchuria, gained control of Peking, including China's internationally recognized government, in April 1926.
Chiang Kai-shek (1887 - 1975) 蒋介石, 1st, 3rd Chairman of the Nationalist Government of China, Chairman of the National Military Council, President of the Republic of China, 1st, 3rd Director-General of the Kuomintang.
Lin Sen (1868 - 1943) 林森, President of the National Government of the Republic of China from 1931 until his death.

Leave a Reply